SpielByWeb Forum Index SpielByWeb
http://www.spielbyweb.com/

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   Find a UserFind a User   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 Your GamesYour Games   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Day Trading and how to account for it?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
AE12Pr

PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2020 12:32 pm    Post subject: Day Trading and how to account for it? Reply with quote

Okay, please bear with me here, as I'm not very good at writing forum posts for some reason.

I run a small limited company (welding and manufacturing) and earn just enough to live on and a little for a rainy day. For the past 4 years, I have been day trading profitably, and this has supplemented my income and declared any income from day trading through self-assessment. I don't know if it matters, but I trade currencies, cryptocurrencies, and sometimes stocks and shares. I don't make a lot of money from it, but it adds to my income.

That's where things got complicated for me, today I was having a discussion with someone on the Internet who suggested that I also declare the turnover of my trades, and not just any income that I get from trading. Today I went through all my trades over the past 12 months and the turnover was just over £ 450,000 before trading fees. One thing that was raised in the conversation was that if I had a tax investigation from HMRC, there would be a lot of questions from akward as to where this extra income comes from, and there would be possible consequences as I never declared the turnover from the trade or the cost/details of each transaction.

Can anyone shed any light on whether turnover should also be declared?

What about the value of each transaction and how exactly it should be declared?

If I have to declare the value of each transaction, is there any accounting software that you would recommend for this?